Celebrating Maine's Artist-Endowed Foundations

Opening Reception May 4th, 5-8 PM

Maine is fortunate to have many artist-endowed foundations contributing artistic and financial resources to our state. Artists love coming to Maine for her natural beauty, tranquility and unspoiled wilderness. In the 19th and 20th centuries, many artists established studios and seasonal homes inMaine’s seaside towns, farmlands and urban areas as well. At the end of life, many of these artists thought carefully about their legacy and decided to create artist-endowed foundations headquarters in Maine. Their love of Maine prompted them to provide new experiences, economic support and educational institutions to sustain younger artists and advance an ever-expanding appreciation of new art forms in the state.

We are proud to bring together the work of some of Maine’s most distinguished artists whosegifts to Maine include seasonal residencies for artists, exhibition programs for the general public, grantsto artists and writers and other programs that continue to enrich Maine’s cultural life. Maine’s culturalties to New York City are reflected in the number of modernists who have made our state a second home and beneficiary of their philanthropy.

This exhibition of 20 borrowed works is drawn from the institutional collections of the following artist-endowed foundations currently active in Maine:

Ellis-Beauregard Foundation, Rockland, ME (http://www.ellis-beauregardfoundation.com)

Surf Point Foundation, York, ME (www.surfpointfoundation.org)

Joseph A. Fiore Art Center, Jefferson, ME (https://www.mainefarmlandtrust.org/public-outreach-new/jaf-art-center/)

Heliker-LaHotan Foundation, Cranberry Isles, ME (http://heliker-lahotan.org)

Bob Crewe Foundation, Falmouth, ME (https://crewe.foundation)

Kenneth Noland Foundation, Port Clyde, ME (http://www.kennethnoland.com)

Stephen & Palmina Pace Foundation, Stonington, ME (https://www.stephenandpalminapace.org https://www.meca.edu/info-for/alumni/alumni-opportunities/grants-residencies/pace-house- residency/)

Dorothea & Leo Rabkin Foundation, Portland, ME (https://www.rabkinfoundation.org)

Artists represented in our exhibition include: Joan Marie Beauregard; Bob Crewe; John David Ellis; Joseph Fiore; Beverly Hallam; John Heliker; Robert LaHotan; Kenneth Noland; Stephen Pace and Leo Rabkin. Each will have two works, one typical major work and
one study or smaller work. We hope that the vitality and beauty of this presentation will pay tribute to the vision and generosity of a generation of important artists who are even now playing a role in the future life of art in Maine.

If you would like more information about this topic, please contact Susan C. Larsen, Ph.D., Executive Director at 207-536-1686 or email slarsen@rabkinfoundation.org or Danielle Frye, Executive Assistant at dfrye@rabkinfoundation.org

 

 

 Kenneth Noland (1924-2010)   Mysteries: Gold Silence , 2002  Acrylic on Canvas

Kenneth Noland (1924-2010)

Mysteries: Gold Silence, 2002

Acrylic on Canvas

Ken Murphy